Bees are busy!

The bee yard and my gardens have been buzzing with this hot weather.  I’m seeing bees on pretty much every flower in both the vegetable & flower beds!

Bees love my snakeroot flowers
Bees love my snakeroot flowers

Here’s what the apiary looks like in Mid July :

Apiary in Early July
Apiary in Early July

The NUCs   I started at the beginning of July  are in the aqua color hive in the back right – behind the hive with 3 blue & 2 yellow boxes.  They seem to be doing well.   The queens were accepted in both NUCs, and they are both laying eggs!  I am going to try to “over winter” these two NUCs – which means they go through  Winter as a small colony and I can use them to replace any hives that I lose.

The two swarms – the hives with blue & yellow boxes – are booming   The older colonies (yellow, white & unpainted boxes) are also building up with their new queens.   I’ll probably have to add another box to each of the older colonies this week!

The Bees in the tree (the swarm I didn’t catch)also seems to be booming – One hot day, there were lots of bees on the tree “fanning” to cool off their home.

Bees "fanning" to cool off their home
Bees “fanning” to cool off their home

 

 

Leave a Reply

